Community Safety Committee


  • Councillor Craig Hodge, Chair
  • Councillor Gord Klassen, Vice Chair
  • Mayor Val van den Broek
  • Mayor Clara Reinhardt
  • Councillor Sadie Hunter
  • Councillor Patrick Johnstone

Terms of Reference

The Community Safety Committee performs three basic functions:

  1. Advocates changes in federal and provincial policy to the service and delivery of measures needed by local government to assist in the protection of the public at the local level;
  2. Represents local government in the development of public policy at the federal and provincial level to protect the public locally; and
  3. Promotes and shares information on solutions implemented by local government to protect the public.

Policy Development

For detailed information about UBCM's current policy work in this area, please refer to the Community Safety policy page.

Staff Support

Bhar Sihota
Policy Analyst
604 270 8226, ext. 114

Meta Navigation