External Committees & UBCM Working Groups

This page lists UBCM's active engagement with external committees and UBCM working groups related to community safety.

UBCM appoints local government elected officials and senior staff to provide local government perspectives on issues that significantly impact local governments. The appointees provide updates to the UBCM Executive and its working committees. Often, the UBCM appointee to an external committee or UBCM working group will be called on to collaborate with representatives from a wide range of sectors, including other orders of government; Crown corporations; the business community; or non-profit organizations.

Current Vacancies

UBCM Cannabis Policy Technical Working Group
UBCM continues to seek local government staff representatives for its Cannabis Policy Technical Working Group. The Working Group was established by the UBCM Executive in November 2019 to consult with the provincial government on an as-needed basis regarding new and ongoing policy and technical issues.

Local Government Working Group on Liquor Policy
UBCM continues to seek new local government staff members for its Working Group on Liquor Policy. The Working Group was established following the 2014 liquor policy review, as part of a provincial commitment to work with local governments in the development of liquor policy. It also provides a forum to address local government concerns and feedback on relevant issues.

Consideration will be given towards ensuring representation from throughout British Columbia, and from communities of all sizes. Meetings will be held on an as-needed basis via teleconference or videoconference.

Individuals interested in any of the above vacancies may contact Bhar Sihota, UBCM Senior Policy Analyst.

Active Appointments

Advisory Committee on Provincial Policing Standards
Dave Critchley, City of Burnaby
Bhar Sihota, UBCM

BC Access to Justice Committee
Mayor Maja Tait, District of Sooke

BC Local Government RCMP Contract Management Committee
Councillor Craig Hodge, City of Coquitlam – UBCM Co-Chair
Dave Critchley, City of Burnaby
Milo Macdonald, City of Williams Lake
Mayor Chris Pieper, City of Armstrong
Mayor Al Siebring, District of North Cowichan
Mike Younie, District of Mission
Heather Avison, City of Terrace
Mayor Ange Qualizza, City of Fernie
Byron McCorkell, City of Kamloops

BC Road Safety Strategy: Education & Awareness Committee
Samantha Piper, City of Chilliwack

BC Road Safety Strategy: Safe Roads & Communities Committee
Will Beaty, Metro Vancouver

BC Road Safety Strategy: Steering Committee

BC Seismic Safety Council
Shaun Koopman, Strathcona Regional District

Flood and Wildfire Advisory Committee
Councillor Arjun Singh, City of Kamloops - Co-Chair
Director Grace McGregor, Regional District of Kootenay Boundary
Chair Art Kaehn, Regional District of Fraser-Fort George
Chair Margo Wagner, Cariboo Regional District
Chair Brad Sperling, Peace River Regional District
Robert Lapham, Capital Regional District
Travis Whiting, City of Kelowna
Tarina Colledge, Fraser Valley Regional District
Daniel Stevens, City of Vancouver

UBCM Cannabis Policy Technical Working Group
Chris Coates, City of Victoria
Kevin Cormack, City of Nelson
Adam Goodwin, City of Penticton
Kathryn Holm, City of Vancouver
Dave Jones, City of Kamloops
Peter Monteith, City of Chilliwack
Vacancy (1-3)

Local Government Working Group on Liquor Policy
Bhar Sihota, UBCM – Co-Chair
Kim Deighton & Mike Watson, City of New Westminster
Carli Williams, City of Richmond
Cathy Joe & Cornelia Sussmann, City of Vancouver
Ryan Morhart, City of Victoria
Lee-Anne Pitcairn, City of Surrey
Lisa Scott, City of Burnaby
Ryan Smith, City of Kelowna
Mandy Stanker, City of Prince George
David Stewart, Lainy Nowak & Lisa Brinkman City of Nanaimo

Operation Lifesaver BC (formerly the BC Provincial Committee on Rail Safety)
Mayor Barbara Roden, Village of Ashcroft
Councillor Pete Pearson, Village of Valemount
Councillor Cyra Yunkws, Village of Warfield
Samantha Piper, City of Chilliwack

PRIME-BC Board of Directors
David Stuart, CAO, District of North Vancouver
Councillor Gord Klassen, City of Fort St. John
Paul Thorkelsson, CAO, District of Saanich

Meta Navigation