Area Associations

The Union of B.C. Municipalities is required under statute “to encourage and promote the organization and development of area associations and, for the purposes of the Local Government Act, the Community Charter and any other Acts, to certify all such associations that are bona fide area associations.”

There are five local government area associations in B.C., each of which is governed by a duly elected Executive and meets annually to consider resolutions that have been identified by local communities. Resolutions endorsed at area association meetings are forwarded to UBCM’s annual convention for consideration by the full membership.

Association of Kootenay & Boundary Local Governments

Association of Vancouver Island and Coastal Communities

Lower Mainland Local Government Association

North Central Local Government Association

Southern Interior Local Government Association