Nominations & Elections

The 2017 Nominating Committee has completed its advance nomination process for UBCM Executive positions.  A summary of the candidates running for office is included in the Nominating Committee Report.


Each May, UBCM constitutes a Nominating Committee to oversee the nominations process for the UBCM Executive. The Nominating Committee is comprised of the Immediate Past President as well as one representative from each area association.

As part of the nominations process, the Committee issues a Call for Nominations and reviews the qualifications of each candidate. The Committee issues a report compiling all nominations received by the advance nominations deadline of Monday, July 31, 2017. Nominations from the floor are also accepted at the Annual Convention.

Nominations are accepted for the following 13 elected positions on the UBCM Executive:

  • President
  • First Vice-President
  • Second Vice-President
  • Third Vice-President
  • Director at Large (5 positions)
  • Small Community Representative
  • Electoral Area Representative
  • Vancouver Metro Area Representative (2 positions)

Elections are held at the Annual Convention.

2017 Nominating Committee

Councillor Al Richmond, Past President, UBCM (Chair)
Councillor Laurey-Anne Roodenburg, North Central Local Government Association
Councillor Chad Eliason, Southern Interior Local Government Association
Chair Rob Gay, Association of Kootenay & Boundary Local Governments
Councillor Jason Lum, Lower Mainland Local Government Association
Councillor Barbara Price, Association of Vancouver Island & Coastal Communities 


For further information about the nominations and elections process, please contact:

Marie Crawford
Associate Executive Director
604 270 8226 ext. 104

Meta Navigation