

December 2, 2021



Right Honourable Justin Trudeau Office of the Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

And Premier John Horgan PO Box 9041 STN PROV GOVT Victoria, BC V8W 9E1

Dear Prime Minister Trudeau and Premier Horgan;

We write to you on behalf of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) and the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM) to request local government representation in the newly formed joint committee on disaster response and climate resilience.

British Columbia has experienced unprecedented natural disasters this year. The recent devastating atmospheric river rain events are just the latest in a series of climate related emergencies. Local governments are on the front lines of these emergencies and they have responded quickly and effectively. As the level of government closest to the people they are faced with the need for immediate response in the face of extremely challenging circumstances. And the post disaster response to repair communities and infrastructure will go on for years.

We were pleased to see your November 26<sup>th</sup> announcement of the creation of a joint committee to address disaster response and climate resilience. We understand this is a federal/provincial committee that will be co-chaired by Minister Blair and Minister Farnworth. We have requested a terms of reference for the committee and have been advised they are under development.

Given the impact of these events on communities, it will be critical for the success of the committee to include local government representation. Local governments have detailed knowledge of the critical infrastructure, operations, emergency preparedness and planning background that will be essential to the process of rebuilding and renewing.

UBCM would be pleased to assist in the identification of local government representatives to provide this critical local perspective on the joint committee, ensuring those identified support the mandate of the group once the terms of reference are finalized.

Thank-you for your consideration of our request.

vodunhur

President, UBCM Laurey-Anne Roodenburg

cc: Honourable Bill Blair Honourable Mike Farnworth Honourable Josie Osborne

Past President, FCM Garth Frizzell