Record response for UBCM nominations

A total of 26 local elected officials have put their name forward to serve on UBCM’s Executive nominations for 2020-21. Following the close for nominations on July 31, candidates running for President, First VP, Second VP, Electoral Area Representative and Small Community Representative are acclaimed, while elections will occur for Third VP, Director at Large and Vancouver Metro Area Representative.

The Nominations Committee wishes to congratulate Councillor Brian Frenkel, Councillor Laurey-Anne Roodenburg, Councillor Jen Ford, Director Grace McGregor and Councillor Sarah Fowler on their acclamations.

“The committee was thrilled to see such great interest of members seeking election to the Executive”, said Nominating Committee Chair, Councillor Arjun Singh.  “Despite the pandemic, it is wonderful to see such an overwhelming response.”

Three candidates are running for Third Vice President, 14 candidates are running for five Director at Large positions, and four candidates are running for two Metro Vancouver Area Representative positions. Elections for these positions will be held during the 2020 virtual UBCM Convention. 

The Nominating Committee report will be released next week and further information for candidates as to the election process at the 2020 virtual Convention will follow in the coming weeks.

The Nominating Committee wishes to thank all local elected officials for their interest and extends best wishes to all the candidates running for election. Those acclaimed and the nominees are as follows: 




Councillor Brian Frenkel

District of Vanderhoof

President *

Councillor Laurey-Anne Roodenburg City of Quesnel

1st VP*

Councillor Jen Ford Resort Municipality of Whistler 2nd VP*
Councillor Chad Eliason City of Salmon Arm 3rd VP
Councillor Claire Moglove City of Campbell River 3rd VP
Mayor Ange Qualizza City of Fernie 3rd VP
Councillor Sean Bujtas City of Terrace Director At Large
Director Susan Clovechok RD East Kootenay Director At Large
Councillor Will Cole-Hamilton City of Courtenay Director At Large
Councillor Sharmarke Dubow City of Victoria Director At Large
Councillor Ben Geselbracht City of Nanaimo Director At Large
Director Travis Hall Central Coast RD Director At Large
Councillor Scott Harrison Town of Qualicum Beach Director At Large
Councillor Ken Herar District of Mission Director At Large
Councillor Sadie Hunter City of Kamloops Director At Large
Mayor Martin Johansen Town of Oliver Director At Large
Councillor Gord Klassen City of Fort St. John Director At Large
Councillor Amy Lubik City of Port Moody Director At Large
Councillor Helen Poon City of Port Alberni Director At Large
Mayor Gaby Wickstrom Town of Port McNeill Director At Large

Councillor Sarah Fowler

Village of Tahsis

Small Community Rep*

Director Grace McGregor

Kootenay Boundary RD

Electoral Area Rep*

Councillor Paul Albrecht City of Langley Vancouver Metro Area Rep
Councillor Lisa Dominato City of Vancouver  Vancouver Metro Area Rep
Councillor Trish Mandewo City of Coquitlam Vancouver Metro Area Rep
Mayor Val van den Broek City of Langley  Vancouver Metro Area Rep

Meta Navigation