Appointments to Local Government Finance Committee

In September UBCM announced the re-establishment of a Select Committee on Local Government Finance to undertake a comprehensive review of the 2013 Strong Fiscal Futures Report. After consultation, the Presidents’ Committee has appointed representatives to the Select Committee, with the first meeting set for December 17th.

The Select Committee members are:

  • Mayor Maja Tait, District of Sooke, UBCM President, Convening Chair
  • Mayor Malcolm Brodie, City of Richmond
  • Mike Buda, Executive Director, TransLink/Mayors’ Council
  • Genelle Davidson, Divisional Director of Finance, City of Kelowna
  • Chair Rob Gay, East Kootenay Regional District
  • Mayor Lyn Hall, City of Prince George
  • Councillor Blair Lekstrom, City of Dawson Creek
  • Leanne McCarthy, CAO, City of North Vancouver
  • Director Al Richmond, Cariboo Regional District

Through the review, the Select Committee will analyse the options captured within the Report against current issues and challenges facing local governments, identify a concise list of options, include additional documentation and rational for their support and table these in a report to UBCM Executive. It is expected that the Select Committee will present its findings to UBCM Executive in July 2020.

For further information on the Select Committee, please contact Glen Brown, General Manager, Victoria Operations.

Meta Navigation