Monaghan Awarded FCM Roll of Honour

Joanne receives her FCM Roll of Honour from Kitimat-Stikine RD board members who accepted the award on her behalf.UBCM past president Joanne Monaghan (1994-1996) is the most recent recipient of FCM’s Roll of Honour Award, where she served as President from 2000-2001.  The Award honours leaders in local government, recognizing their outstanding contribution to FCM and to municipal government in Canada.

Joanne Monaghan spent 35 years in public office. As a former councillor and mayor in Kitimat, BC, she served her community and region with passion and pride.  She brought that same energy and drive to UBCM during her years as president where her advocacy was directed toward local government recognition.  Her goal was realized when UBCM signed the Protocol of Recognition in 1996 confirming the Province’s recognition of “local government as an independent, responsible and accountable order of government.“  This milestone was later enshrined within local government legislation.

Meta Navigation