BC MLAs Bring Local Government Experience

Over one-third of the members of the next Legislative Assembly in British Columbia will draw upon prior experience as local elected officials. The preliminary voting results from the 2017 provincial general election show that 31 out of 85 of the current MLAs have served at least one term as a local elected leader. The final election count will be undertaken May 22-24, and will include recounts in the electoral districts of Courtenay-Comox and Vancouver-False Creek.  

The 31 current MLAs with local government experience are as follows:

BC Liberal Party

Simon Gibson (Abbotsford - Mission)
Abbottsford Councillor

Linda Larson (Boundary - Similkameen)
Oliver Mayor and Councillor

Donna Barnett (Cariboo - Chilcotin)
100 Mile House Mayor

Coralee Oakes (Cariboo North)
Quesnel Councillor

Jackie Tegart (Fraser Nicola)
Ashcroft Councillor

Peter Milobar (Kamloops-North Thompson)
Kamloops Mayor

Norm Letnick (Kelowna Lake Country)
Banff Councillor 

Dan Ashton (Penticton)
Penticton Mayor

Mike Bernier (Peace River South)
Dawson Creek Mayor and Councillor

Greg Kyllo (Shuswap)
Sicamous Councillor

Marvin Hunt (Surrey – Cloverdale)
Surrey Councillor

Sam Sullivan (Vancouver – False Creek)
Vancouver Mayor and Councillor

Eric Foster (Vernon – Monashee)
Lumby Mayor and Councillor

Jordan Sturdy (West Vancouver Sea to Sky)
Pemberton Mayor

Ian Paton (Delta-South)
Delta Councillor

Tom Shypitka  (Kootenay-East)
Cranbrook Councillor

Dan Davies (Peace River North)
Fort St. John City Councillor

BC New Democratic Party 

Selina Robinson (Coquitlam-Maillardville)
Coquitlam Councillor

Scott Fraser (Mid-Island – Pacific Rim)
Tofino Mayor

Anne Kang (Burnaby-Deer Lake)
Burnaby Councillor

Rob Fleming (Victoria – Swan Lake)
Victoria Councillor

Mike Farnworth (Port Coquitlam)
Port Coquitlam Councillor

Rick Glumac (Port Moody-Coquitlam)
Port Moody Councillor

Michelle Mungall (Nelson – Creston)
Nelson Councillor

Jennifer Rice (North Coast)
Prince Rupert Councillor

Bruce Ralston (Surrey – Whalley)
Surrey Councillor

Doug Donaldson (Stikine)
Hazelton Councillor

Ronna Rae Leonard (Courteny-Comox)
Courtenay Councillor

George Chow (Vancouver-Fraserview)
Vancouver Councillor

Green Party

Adam Olsen (Saanich North-Island)
Central Saanich Councillor

Sonia Furstenau (Cowichan Valley)
Cowichan Valley RD Director

Meta Navigation