WoodWorks! Winners Announced

Leadership in wood use for design and building of local government projects was recognized today at the UBCM Convention.

Wood WORKS! BC announced winners of the 2015 Community Recognition Awards, which are presented annually to local governments that have been exemplary advocates for the use of wood

The 2015 recipients are:

AVICC -- Association of Vancouver Island and Coastal Communities: Town of Qualicum Beach for the Qualicum Beach Fire Hall (MERIT: Vancouver Island Regional Library, representing 28 municipalities and 10 regional districts for libraries in City of Nanaimo and Town of Lake Cowichan)

AKBLG -- Association of Kootenay Boundary Local Governments: Village of Kaslo for the 5th Street Unity Bridge (MERIT: City of Kimberley|Village of Midway)

NCLGA -- North Central Local Government Association: District of Chetwynd for the Chetwynd Municipal Hall (under construction) (MERIT: Village of Burns Lake)

SILGA -- Southern Interior Local Government Association: Columbia Shuswap Regional District for administrative and board offices in the City of Salmon Arm (MERIT: Village of Clinton|City of Armstrong)

LMLGA -- Lower Mainland Local Government Association: Squamish - Lillooet Regional District for the Garibaldi Fire Hall in the Town of Whistler (MERIT: City of Surrey|City of Port Moody)

Wood WORKS! BC is a recognized resource to help BC communities follow the Wood First Act, which requires provincially funded buildings to feature wood as the primary construction material within the BC Building Code.  

Meta Navigation