Rural Advisory Council Announced

Fourteen individuals from across the province have been appointed to the Province‚Äôs new Rural Advisory Council.  Four of the representatives are local elected officials: Director Grace McGregor, Regional District of Kootenay Boundary; Mayor Gerry Thiessen, Vanderhoof; Councillor Sylvia Pranger, Kent; and Mayor Chris Pieper, Armstrong.

The mandate of the council is to provide input to government policy decisions related to rural communities.  The initial focus for the council will be to provide advice on rural economic development, including rural access to capital and business development support for rural entrepreneurs and businesses. The council will also advise on rural community capacity building, including the Rural Dividend.  Former Terrace Mayor David Pernarowski was also appointed to the group of fourteen.

To learn more about the Rural Advisory Council, visit the Government of British Columbia website.

Meta Navigation