2014 Advocacy Days Underway in Victoria

UBCM's Executive is in Victoria this week to raise awareness of the challenges facing the local government finance system in B.C.  Drawing from a report that received unanimous endorsement by UBCM's membership at the 2013 Convention, the Executive aims to build support for the province to work jointly with local government to strengthen the finance system.

The Strong Fiscal Futures report found that while the present system of local government is sound, pressures over the next decade from servicing and infrastructure investment threaten to make the property tax unaffordable for many British Columbians.  The report proposes a blueprint to address the weaknesses in the system, several elements of which would require provincial involvement to implement.

UBCM will update the membership on the provincial responses to Advocacy Days at the Area Association meetings throughout the spring.

The Executive will be meeting with the following Ministers, Parliamentary Secretaries and MLAs over the remainder of this week:

Coralee Oakes, Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development
Peter Fassbender, Minister of Education
Susan Anton, Minister of Justice and Attorney General
Mary Polak, Minister of Environment
Bill Bennett, Minister of Energy and Mines, Minister Responsible for Core Review
John Rustad, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation
Stephanie Cadieux, Minister of Children and Family Development
Don McRae, Minister of Social Development and Social Innovation
Norm Letnick, Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier
Jordan Sturdy, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure
Greg Kyllo, Parliamentary Secretary (BC Jobs Plan) to the Minister of Jobs, Tourism and Skills Training
Darryl Plecas, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Justice
Adrian Dix, Leader of the Official Opposition
Donna Barnett, MLA for Cariboo-Chilcotin
Eric Foster, MLA for Vernon-Monashee
Mike Bernier, MLA for Peace River South
Marvin Hunt, MLA for Surrey-Panorama
Jackie Tegert, MLA for Fraser-Nicola
Linda Larson, MLA for Boundary-Similkameen
Dan Ashton, MLA for Penticton
Selina Robinson, MLA for Coquitlam-Millardville
Shane Simpson, MLA for Vancouver-Hastings
Simon Gibson, MLA for Abbotsford-Mission
Doug Bing, MLA for Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows
Vicki Huntington, MLA for Delta South
Andrew Weaver, MLA for Oak Bay–Gordon Head

Meta Navigation