UBCM Strikes a Recycling Negotiating Committee

UBCM has struck a new Recycling Negotiating Committee to address the recently endorsed Resolution 2013 – SR1, which called for:
  • the provincial government and Multi-Materials BC (MMBC) to provide an additional 90 days to local governments to properly clarify and consider the MMBC offer prior to the implementation of the MMBC Packaging and Printed Paper Stewardship Plan in May 2014;
  • a provincial review and revision of the MMBC stewardship plan to address outstanding local government concerns; and
  • the appointment of a representative committee to negotiate with the Province and MMBC  on the implementation of the MMBC stewardship plan.
The Committee is comprised of the following members:
  • Mayor Malcolm Brodie, City of Richmond
  • Mayor Mike Clay, City of Port Moody
  • Mayor Sharon Gaetz, City of Chilliwack
  • Councillor Linda Hepner, City of Surrey - UBCM Presidents Committee Liaison
  • Chair Robert Gay, Regional District East Kootenay
  • Chair Art Kaehn, Regional District of Fraser Fort George
  • Mayor Garry Litke, City of Penticton
  • Mayor Nils Jensen, District of Oak Bay
The Committee will meet on October 16th, and will be providing regular updates.

Meta Navigation