East Kootenay RD CAO Appointed to Internet Voting Panel

UBCM is pleased to learn that Lee-Ann Crane, Chief Administrative Officer for the East Kootenay RD has been appointed to the Independent Panel on Internet Voting.   Ms. Crane was selected for her independence, judgment and expertise in the area of local government elections, having served as a member and Chair of the LGMA's Elections Committee for almost 15 years.
Back in August 2012, BC's Chief Electoral Officer, Keith Archer was asked by the Minister of Justice to appoint an independent panel to review the best practices for Internet voting from other jurisdictions—in both local and provincial contexts—and identify any possible technological or logistical barriers. When it was learned that the scope of the Panel's work would include local government, UBCM's President wrote to the Chief Electoral Officer requesting that representation from local government be included on the Panel.  Recognizing that local government elections are run much differently than provincial elections, UBCM felt it was imperative that an appointment from local government be included.  Mr. Archer acknowledged our interests and confirmed Crane's appointment to the Panel this past September.
“I am very honoured to have been appointed to this Panel and to represent local government,” states Ms. Crane.  “There is quite a bit of research to undertake and other work to do.  The panel began its work in September and is establishing a work plan that will include a report to the Legislative Assembly.”
Others joining Ms. Crane on the Independent Panel include:

  • Dr. Konstantin (Kosta) Beznosov, Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Valerie King, Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Victoria
  • Mr. George Morfitt, Former Auditor General of British Columbia

Meta Navigation