2008 Winners

UBCM thanks the following 2008 Community Excellence Award partners:

  • Ministry of Community Services
  • Vancouver Airport Authority

The winners of the 2008 Community Excellence Awards were announced during a special awards ceremony on Thursday, September 25, 2008 in Penticton.

Best Practices

Winner: Town of Creston, Physician Recruitment in the Creston Valley

Honourable Mention: City of Kamloops, Co-collection of Waste & Recyclables

Best Practices - Annual Reporting

Winner: Town of Smithers

Best Practices - Website

Winner: City of Pitt Meadows

Honourable Mention: District of Kent

Leadership & Innovation

Small Community: District of Ucluelet, Ucluelet Sustainability Initiatives

Mid-Size Community: City of Colwood & City of Langford, Jointly Developed Official Community Plans

Large Community: District of Saanich, Municipal Carbon Neutral Reserve Fund

Regional District: Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen, Naramata Water System

Special for 2008: Community Stewardship Award

Vancouver Board of Parks & Recreation, Stanley Park Restoration

Partnerships – Local Government and First Nations Partnerships

Winner: City of Nanaimo, Newcastle Island Collaborative Management Agreement

Meta Navigation