External Committees & Working Groups

This page lists UBCM's active engagement with external committees and working groups related to community safety.

UBCM appoints local government elected officials and senior staff to these external committees and working groups, to provide local government perspectives on issues that significantly impact local governments. The appointees provide updates to the UBCM Executive and its working committees. Often, the UBCM appointee to an external working group will be called on to collaborate with representatives from a wide range of sectors, including other orders of government; Crown corporations; the business community; or non-profit organizations.

Current Vacancy

BC Seismic Safety Council – Local Government Representative
May 3, 2017

UBCM is seeking a local government staff representative, who possesses a high level of knowledge related to seismic safety and emergency preparedness, to join the British Columbia Seismic Safety Council (SSC).

The BC SSC consists of professionals in emergency management, academia, scientific research, private industry, and other disciplines. Members have been brought together to recommend goals and priorities for province-wide strategies that address the seismic threat through mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery activities. The BC SSC reports to the Inter-agency Emergency Preparedness Council (IEPC) and the Federal Coordination Group (FCG) on the progress of its activities.

Chaired by Emergency Management BC and Natural Resources Canada, the BC SSC meets quarterly or at the co-chairs’ discretion. Members are requested to participate in-person or via teleconference. In accordance with UBCM policy, staff members will not be reimbursed for out-of-pocket expenses.

Interested individuals are asked to contact Bhar Sihota, UBCM Policy Analyst, by May 26, 2017. The UBCM Executive will look to make the BC SSC appointment at an upcoming meeting.

Active Appointments

Advisory Committee on Provincial Policing Standards
Phyllis Carlyle, CAO, Regional District of Nanaimo
Dave Critchley, Director Public Safety & Community Services, City of Burnaby

BC Access to Justice Committee
Mayor Nils Jensen, District of Oak Bay

BC Local Government RCMP Contract Management Committee
Councillor Bruce Hayne, City of Surrey – Co-Chair
Director Ray Boucher, Fraser Valley Regional District
Paul Gill, GM Corporate & Financial Services, City of Maple Ridge
Mayor Linda Hepner, City of Surrey
Mayor Paul Ives, Town of Comox
Milo Macdonald, CAO, City of Williams Lake
Mayor Neil Menard, City of Merritt
Councillor Al Siebring, District of North Cowichan
[two positions are at present unfilled]

BC RCMP Municipal Companion Document Working Group
Paul Gill, GM Corporate & Financial Services, City of Maple Ridge – Co-Chair
Cecilia Achiam, Director Administration & Compliance, City of Richmond
Janis Bell, CAO, Cariboo Regional District
Dave Critchley, Director Public Safety & Community Services, City of Burnaby
Kam Grewal, Manager of Corporate Audit, City of Surrey
Rob Mayne, Divisional Director Corporate & Protective Services, City of Kelowna
Bhar Sihota, Policy Analyst, UBCM
Scott Sommerville, CAO, City of Kimberley

BC Road Safety Strategy: Education & Awareness Committee
Samantha Piper, Public Safety Specialist, City of Chilliwack

BC Road Safety Strategy: Safe Roads & Communities Committee
Will Beaty, Security & Crime Prevention Coordinator, Metro Vancouver

BC Road Safety Strategy: Steering Committee

Local Government Working Group on Liquor Policy
Bhar Sihota, Policy Analyst, UBCM – Co-Chair
Lucia Cumerlato, Liquor License Department Coordinator, City of Vancouver
Kim Deighton, Manager Licensing & Integrated Services, City of New Westminster
Carli Edwards, Manager Licensing & Customer Service, City of Richmond
Pam Mierau, Manager Development Services, City of Nelson
Ryan Morhart, Manager Permits & Inspections, City of Victoria
Lee-Anne Pitcairn, Senior Planner, City of Surrey
Frank Savage, Planner, Resort Municipality of Whistler
Lisa Scott, Planner, City of Burnaby
Parissa Shafizadeh, Planner, City of Burnaby
Ryan Smith, Community Planning Department Manager, City of Kelowna
Mandy Stanker, Planner, City of Prince George
David Stewart, Environmental Planner, City of Nanaimo
Cornelia Sussmann, Policy Analyst, City of Vancouver
Athena von Hausen, Planning Analyst, City of Port Coquitlam
Mike Watson, Planning Technician, City of New Westminster

Police Structure & Funding Expert Committee
Phyllis Carlyle, CAO, Regional District of Nanaimo
Kevin Cormack, City Manager, City of Nelson
Paul Gill, GM Corporate & Financial Services, City of Maple Ridge

PRIME-BC Board of Directors
Mayor Derek Corrigan, City of Burnaby
Mayor Peter Milobar, City of Kamloops
David Stuart, CAO, District of North Vancouver

Meta Navigation